A Few Quick Refashions For My Daugther

I asked my daughter if she would like me to alter a t-shirt for our upcoming vacation. She said ‘Uhm, maybe?’ So I sat her down in front of the computer and showed her some Pinterest ideas. She is very decisive and immediately said ‘I want the lace down the back and can you do ‘that’ to the sleeves?’. She also saw a pair of shorts that she loved. Sometimes the hardest part for her is picking out the materials to be used. She only had one choice for the t-shirt (only lace wide enough) but had multiple for the shorts.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For the shorts I measure 2″ up and 2″ across the hem in each direction, from the seam. I then added a .5″ seam allowance inside the triangle area, which I used as the cutting edge.

The cutting and folding over lines.

The cutting and folding over lines.

Next was ironing the seam allowance up. I then pinned the lace to the edges and sewed down.

Time to sew it together!

Time to sew it together!

Trimming the lace on the inside is the last step.

DSCN3437 (640x480)

We don’t need any extra lace.

She now has a fun pair of shorts for our vacation. You could use this technique to add any type of fabric you wanted.

Finished and ready to wear.

Finished and ready to wear.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The t-shirt was a little more involved, but not really any harder. I think she picked this t-shirt because she wouldn’t mind it being ruined if she didn’t like how it turned out. I don’t have the before picture, but I think you can ‘picture’ it.

I placed a small self-healing mat inside the t-shirt to prevent me from pinning the front and back together.

I placed a small self-healing mat inside the t-shirt to prevent me from pinning the front and back together.

I decided to sew the lace to the outside of the t-shirt, I figured the raw edged of the cut lace would look good. It would be even better if you had some extra wide lace that had two finished edges. I centred the lace panel down the back of the t-shirt and pinned into place.

DSCN3441 (480x640)

Whir!

DSCN3442 (428x320)

The three lines of stitching, before the lace is trimmed away.

I sewed the lace to the collar, following the stitch lines. I then used a stretch zigzag between those two stitch line for extra staying power. The extra was trimmed away.

Time to cut up the t-shirt.

Time to cut up the t-shirt.

Starting at the top of the t-shirt, on both sides of the lace panel, I sewed the edges down with the stretch zigzag. I then turned the shirt inside out and cut away that portion of the t-shirt.

Finishing the lace panel.

Finishing the lace panel.

To finish the lace panel, I turned the hem up and using the – you guessed it – stretch zigzag to finish the hem. Trim the excess away.

Measure twice because you only get to cut once.

Measure twice because you only get to cut once.

Time to turn those sleeves into bows.  I picked a point down from the shoulder to cut the sleeve away from the top, on each side. I then made sure that it was the same distance on the other sleeve. After cutting open I sewed the seam down to the shoulder of the top, so no ugly sergered edges would be flopping down.

Hand gathered.

Hand gathered.

This step you can skip, but I roughly hand-gathered the sleeves together. I wanted them to stay put while I was sewing the lace around the gathered front of the sleeve. I overlapped the lace edges and sewed then down on the inside of the sleeves.

Sewing the lace together and to the sleeve.

Sewing the lace together and to the sleeve.

This altered t-shirt is done!

Time for a close-up!

Time for a close-up!

and another...

and another…

I hope she has fun wearing this outfit. I like it so much I might have to make myself one.

lace it up

Leave a Reply

